How do I delete messages in webmail, or other email clients?
When using UNC-CH webmail, if you delete a message, it is sent to the Trash folder. To view deleted messages, select the Trash folder from the Folders display on the left side of the screen.
To completely delete the messages that have been sent to the Trash, click the Empty link at the bottom left of your screen.
Within Webmail’s Personal Setting, more options are available for the handleing of deleted messages.
The Server Settings section may be used to set behaviors of how deleted messages (and messages marked for deletion) are handled according to your preference.
Other Mail Clients
In Mozilla and Mozilla Thunderbird, upon deleting a message, it is either marked for deletion, or moved to your Trash folder. To ensure that the messages you have deleted have really been deleted, choose Compact Folders AND Empty Trash from the File menu.
When using the Apple Mail client, messages are moved to the Trash folder by default. To clean out your trash folder, choose Erase Deleted Messages from the Mailbox drop-down menu.
In Microsoft Outlook, deleted messages are marked for deletion. To permanently delete them, click the Edit drop-down menu, then Purge > Purge Marked Items in All Accounts. From here, you can also set your Purge options, to setup automatic purging, if you wish to do so.
In Mulberry, when you delete a message, it gets marked for deletion (message still appears, but with a line through it), but is not truly deleted until you click the expunge button.
If you have questions or encounter problems, please contact the ITS Service desk at 919-962-HELP (962-4357) or 1-866-962-4457 (US and Puerto Rico), or submit a help request at http://help.unc.edu for assistance.